Gov Wike Dissolves 17 LG Caretaker Committees


Rivers State Governor, Chief Ezebunwo Nyesom Wike on Thursday dissolved caretaker committees of 17, out of the 23 local government areas of the state.

The dissolution of the caretaker committees came barely 24 hours after the governor suspended four commissioners, the Head of Service and the Special Adviser on Lands.

The affected local government councils include, Abua/Odual, Akuku-Toru, Ahoada-East, Andoni, Bonny, Eleme, Emohua, Etche and Ikwerre.


Others are Obio/Akpor, Ogu/Bolo, Okrika, Ogba/Egbema /Ndoni, Omuma, Oyigbo, Port Harcourt City and Tai.

Wike, in a statement issued in Port Harcourt by his special assistant on Electronic Media, Simeon Nwakaudu, noted that the dissolution of the caretaker committees takes immediate effect.

The statement informed that all the caretaker committee chairmen are to hand over to the most senior officials in their respective councils.