Muslim-majority countries angry at Trump travel ban

Iran says order is ‘gift to extremists’ and insult to Islamic world, with condemnation also from Iraq and Sudan

The executive order from President Donald Trump temporarily banning refugees and travellers to the US from seven Muslim-majority countries – Syria, Iran, Iraq, Sudan, Libya, Somalia and Yemen – has faced widespread condemnation.

Protests have sprung up at US airports where passengers from the countries have been detained, and even UK prime minister Theresa May, who seemed hesitant to respond to the ban after a successful tête-à-tête with Trump this week, has said that she “does not agree” with Trump’s actions.

Continue reading…