21 Houses Of Assembly Pass ‘Not Too Young To Run’ Bill, Says Coordinator

Twenty-one State Houses of Assembly across the nation have passed the ‘Not too young to run for elections’ bill amendment according to the Coordinator in Anambra state, Mr. Nonso Orakwe.

Orakwe told newsmen in Awka that Ondo State House of Assembly was the first to pass the age reduction bill, followed closely by the Adamawa, Kwara, Benue and Nasarawa Houses of Assembly.

Borno, Delta, Enugu, Ekiti, Katsina, Yobe and Gombe assemblies passed the bill in December 2017, while Kogi and Kebbi Houses of Assembly passed it in January, 2018. State assemblies that passed it this month are Bauchi, Jigawa, Ebonyi, Kaduna, Ogun, Niger and Abia.

Orakwe lamented that the reluctance of the other 15 Houses of Assembly to pass the bill was worrisome, urging them to do the needful in the interest of democracy.

He described the group as Nigeria’s largest and most successful youth movement driven by the compelling need to restructure the country’s political system to address the deeply entrenched system of political exclusion and institute inclusive politics, transformative leadership and electoral competitiveness in the electoral process.

He said: “These states that have passed the amendment bill have been inaugurated into the ‘Not Too Young To Run Hall of Fame’ for voting in line with aspirations of the Nigerian people. By this singular act, the 21 youth friendly states have made history and written their names in gold.

“The passage of the bill is a demonstration of their commitment to the tenets of representative democracy. We commend them for fulfilling their promise to their constituents and the Nigerian youths, who will always remember them for showing leadership in promoting youth inclusion in democratic politics in Nigeria.

“The Movement uses this opportunity to call on all state Houses of Assembly which are yet to pass the bill to emulate their colleagues by voting YES for the bill. An affirmative vote for the bill will be another historic step to secure the future of youths and indeed the next generation.”

He also commended the House of Representatives for passing an amendment to Section 85 of the Electoral Act 2010 (as amended) to the effect that political parties were compelled to ensure that the position of youth leaders must be occupied by persons between the age of 18 and 35 years.

According to him, the amendment was in tandem with the philosophy of the movement and urged the National Assembly to expedite action on all electoral and constitutional amendments as the 2019 elections would come up in about 365 days.

 Orakwe, however, expressed the disappointment of the movement with the Taraba State House of Assembly, which he said, voted against the age reduction bill, regretting that 11 members of the House voted against the bill, thereby making it impossible for the House to pass the bill.

The post 21 Houses Of Assembly Pass ‘Not Too Young To Run’ Bill, Says Coordinator appeared first on Independent Newspapers Nigeria.

Go to News Source
Author: Chukwujekwu Ilozue